Concacaf announced major format changes from Concachampions 2024: what are they and what are they about?

The most prestigious tournament in North, Central America and the Caribbean will get a new format in 2024 and at GOAL we tell you all the details.

The Champions League will be during the next edition of 2024. Now the oldest and most important competition in the region will be named: Concaf Champions Cup.

The Confederacy announced major changes for the following year, to make competition more attractiveWhere Mexico has been ubiquitous since its founding in 1962. USA has become a serious rival in the region, even with Seattle Sounders as champions during the 2022 edition. Another country that has won the tournament and has a strong presence year after year is Costa Ricawho had inside Saprissa to its last champion in 2005.

The concacaf confirmed that the new tournament will have the participation of 27 clubs And 51 matches throughout the competition. In addition, there will be more than 5 million dollars in prizes and incentives for the champion team.

“The Concacaf Champions Cup will take continental club football in our region to the next level. It will take Concacaf’s leagues and clubs to the next level and the league’s new name, along with this vibrant new brand, allows us to celebrate our rich history as we look forward to a great future for international club football in North America, Central America and the Caribbean,” said Victor Montagliani, president of Concacaf.

“Conacaf’s new club ecosystem will deliver more of those big rivalry matches that we know the footballers want to play and the fans want to watch. Clubs from across the region will have to give their best to compete for and win the Concacaf Champions Cup, earning the right to represent the region in the revamped and expanded FIFA Club World Cup starting in 2025,” said the manager. .

than in GOAL We tell you about all the changes that the competition will undergo in 2024:


Club León champion Concachampions 2023Credit: Getty

  • There is a round 1 with 22 clubs, the winners advance to the round of 16.
  • The teams that are classified in the eighth finals become champions of Liga MX, MLS and Leagues Cup, Caribbean Cup and Central American Cup.
  • The other Liga MX champion, as well as the runner-up and the two teams that have scored the most points of the season will advance to Round 1.
  • In this way, during the 2024 edition, the league could have six to seven teams representing Mexican football.

Distribution Concacaf Champions Cup 2024@CONCACAF


Alejandro Zendejas Henry Martín America closes 2023Getty

  • America (MEX)
  • Monterrey (MEX)
  • Toluca (MEX)
  • Pachuca (MEX)

Source: Goal


More from author

Ukrainian Ministry of Finance announced the amount of the country’s national debt 11:47

Ukraine's national debt increased by $1 billion in August, reaching almost $133.9 billion. reports RIA Novosti, with reference to the Ministry of Finance of...

Pavel Derevianko complained about betrayal and his own stupidity 11:45

Chat with actor Pavel Derevyanko He complained about his stupidity and short-sightedness after being deceived by the artist's friend, crypto fraudster Grigory Muluzyan.“I...

Does the Campeones Cup count as an official tournament?

Find out if the tournament pitting the champions of the United States and Mexico is officially valid.From 2018 to now, the relationship is between...

Scientists have found a way to keep valuable staff in companies 11:42

The presence of on-the-job training increases employee satisfaction and reduces the likelihood of employees leaving for other employers. This conclusion was reached by...