Polish cyclist Michal Kwiatkowski (INEOS Grenadiers) single-handedly won the thirteenth stage of the 110th stage of the Tour de France this Friday, the 138km competition between Châtillon-sur-Chalaronne and the climb to the legendary Grand Colombier.

The 2014 world champion reached the finish line 47 seconds ahead of the Belgian after skipping the day’s break and attacking on the final climb. 50″ via Maxim van Gils (Lotto Dstny) and Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates).

On France’s national day, the Tour met with a short stage and a break was sought from the start that the peloton did not allow. In fact, the ‘cocks’ drove almost 30 kilometers to allow him to level up; there, 20 riders Kwiatkowski, Van Gils and Romain Bardet (DSM Team) went to victory.

This group achieved a nearly four-minute lease, according to their followers, who faced the 17-kilometer climb to the Grand Colombier on 7.1 of the average slope. Meanwhile, in the main group, the UAE was in the lead, but with a low-intensity rhythm, showing that the victory would be among those at the top.

In the split, the Frenchman Quentin Pacher (Groupama-FDJ) was the first to open hostilities, starting from the first kilometers, followed only by Van Gils. But 11 kilometers away, a Kwiatkowski arena beat them both by a few seconds ahead that no one reduces it to the ultimate goal.

In the final round, Denmark’s Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) remains in the lead and on his final climb this Friday was swept away by a brutal attack from Pogacar, who resigned nine seconds before the two upcoming mountain stages. Spaniard Carlos Rodríguez (INEOS Grenadiers) holds fourth place, 4:48 behind the leader.

This Saturday will be the second mountain stage on a very challenging day with 4,200 meters of roughness accumulated over 152 kilometers. In this way, three first category ports will be introduced: Col de Cou (7.4% to 7 km), Col du Feu (7.8% to 5.8 km), Col de la Ramaz (7.1% to 13.9 km), and the imposing Joux Plane (8%) .5 to 11.6 km) Special category crowned in Morzine, 13 kilometers to the end.

General classification of the Tour de France

  • Jonas Vingegaard Rasmussen TJV 53:48:50

  • Tadej Pogacar UAD +0:09

  • Jai Hindley BOH +0:02:51

  • Carlos Rodriguez IGD +0:04:48

  • Adam Yates IAD +0:05:03

  • Simon Yates JAY +0:05:04

  • Peio Bilbao López de Armentia TBV +0:05:25

  • Thomas Pidcock IGD +0:05:35

  • David Gaudu GFC +0:06:52

  • Sepp Kuss TJV +0:07:11

  • Thibaut Pinot GFC +0:09:08

  • Romain Bardet DSM +0:09:33

  • Louis Meintjes ICW +0:09:41

  • Felix GallACT+0:10:33

  • Guillaume MartinCOF+0:10:46

  • Mikel Landa MeanaTBV+0:11:44

  • Emanuel BuchmannBOH+0:12:00

  • Jonathan Castroviejo NicolásIGD+0:19:48

  • Valentin MadouasGFC+0:23:18

  • Clement BerthetACT+0:25:31