12 subsidiaries of Gazprom. Russia imposed retaliatory sanctions against whom else

The Cabinet of Ministers approved the list of legal entities for which Russia imposes retaliatory sanctions. The relevant decree of the government of the Russian Federation was published in the official gazette on Wednesday, 11 May. portal legal information. The document enters into force today, signed by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustil.

The list includes 31 organizations from Germany, France, and other European countries, as well as the United States and Singapore. This list includes in particular Gazprom’s former European subsidiaries, traders and operators of underground gas storage facilities.

It will be impossible to conduct a series of transactions with listed companies. In particular, Russian authorities, legal entities and citizens will not be able to transact with themselves and the organizations under their control, fulfill their obligations to them within the scope of completed transactions, and make financial transactions in their favor.

This also applies to previously signed foreign trade agreements, followed from the document.

These bans were determined by the decree of Russian President Vladimir Putin dated May 3. TASS.

The resolution defines additional criteria for prohibited transactions with companies on the sanctions list of the Russian Federation. We are talking about transactions concluded in favor of the listed legal entities or providing for the settlement of payments, transactions with securities with the participation of or in favor of these companies, or transactions involving the entry of owned or ships into the ports of the Russian Federation. leased by legal entities subject to sanctions, for their own benefit or on behalf of them.

The prohibitions envisaged in the decree are applied “if those who implement special economic measures are aware of the fact that actions are taken in favor of the sanctioned persons”.

The Ministry of Finance has been appointed responsible for sending proposals to the government to change the list and issuing temporary permits for certain transactions with sanctioned individuals.

Who has been blacklisted

The document specifically lists Gazprom Germania GmbH, Gazprom Schweiz AG, Gazprom Marketing & Trading USA Inc, Vemex, Wingas, EuRoPol GAZ and a number of others.

On March 31, 2022, Gazprom Group was transferred to the German company Gazprom Germania Gmbh and Gazprom Marketing & Trading Ltd. ceased participation in all its assets, including The Russian holding, now the sole founder of Gazprom Germania GmbH, St. Petersburg-based subsidiary Gazprom Export Business Services.

Gazprom noted that these companies should stop using the holding’s trademarks.

Subsequently, the German Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Protection placed Gazprom Germania GmbH under the guardianship of the Federal Network Agency until 30 September.

Gazprom Germania is an international group of companies trading natural gas in the UK spot markets through its subsidiary Gazprom Marketing & Trading and selling liquefied natural gas in Southeast Asia through its subsidiary Gazprom. Schweiz AG trades natural gas in Central Asian countries and the former Soviet Union, as well as in Austria, Italy and Serbia.

Natural gas is traded in Germany mainly through Wingas, and in the Czech Republic and Slovakia through Vemex Gazprom Germania.

In addition, Gazprom Germania is the operator of several large gas storage facilities in Germany in cooperation with Wingas, especially in the settlements of Jemgum and Rehden.

EuRoPol GAZ is a joint venture between Gazprom and Polish PGNiG, which owns the Polish section of the Yamal-Europe gas pipeline.

Russia started special military operation In Ukraine on February 24. In response, the United States, Canada, the EU, the United Kingdom, and a number of other states have imposed sanctions against Russian individuals and legal entities. In addition, according to British Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, more than half of Russia’s gold and foreign exchange reserves (60%, or about $350 billion) were frozen.

31 energy companies were subject to retaliatory sanctions from Russia. The Cabinet of Ministers banned transactions with them, including payments and transactions with securities. In particular, the “black list” included the former European subsidiaries of Gazprom and the operator of the Yamal-Europe gas pipeline. Read more in the article “socialbites.ca”.

Source: Gazeta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More from author